National Indigenous Womens

  • The LMRDT compete each year with a representative team in the National Women’s 7s Championships. The forst tournament to include a National Indigenous team was held in Canberra in March and saw great success for the “Lloydettes” who got better and better as the tournament went on, to eventually beat The Australian Barbarians Team on their second encounter to win the Plate final 33-5. From that tournament team Captain Tallisha Harden and winger Taleena Simon were invited to train with the Australian Womens Sevens team with Taleena Simon eventually being offered a professional contract with the team, becoming the first Aboriginal women ever to do so.

    In 2015 the Australian Womens 7s team now has 3 Indigenous members- Mahalia Murphy, Tanisha Stanton and Taleena Simon.

    To view more photos click here.

    Younger team member- 17 year old Caitlin Moran was also selected for further honours, representing Australia in their gold winning Youth Olympics Rugby 7s Team.